Public Holidays in Germany 2020

 

If you are planning a short break, a longer holiday or maybe you just need to contact someone in Germany for work, it goes without saying that it would be helpful to know when businesses or shops might be closed.

In North Rhine-Westphalia, Hessia and Rhineland-Palatinate, Carnival Monday (24th February 2020) is one example of when you might find things closed for business. In fact, the partying normally starts on the Thursday before as workers begin to celebrate carnival time. So, do check my list of German public holidays before planning your trip as there is nothing more disappointing than arriving at your destination only to find that everything’s closed! Unlike the UK, it’s important to bear in mind that shops are closed on Sundays (with just some shops being allowed to open on certain Sundays). However, there is a debate going on at the moment about the possibility of shops opening on Sundays but, as yet, nothing’s been confirmed.

Please note that shops will be closed on a public holiday.

     
Date What Where
1st January (Wednesday) New Year’s Eve nationwide
6th January (Monday) Epihpany Bavaria, Baden-Württemberg, Saxony-Anhalt
10 April (Friday) Good Friday nationwide
12 April (Sunday) Easter Sunday nationwide
13 April (Monday) Easter Monday nationwide
1 May (Friday) Labour Day nationwide
21 May (Thursday) Ascension (also “Father’s Day”) nationwide
31 May and 1 June (Sunday and Monday) Whitsun nationwide
11 June (Thursday) Corpus Christi Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Hesse, North-Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland and some areas in Saxony and Thuringia
15 August (Saturday) Assumption Day Saarland and Bavaria
3 October (Saturday) Germany National Holiday nationwide
31 October (Saturday) Reformation Brandenburg, Bremen, Hamburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Lower Saxony, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Schleswig-Holstein & Thuringia
1 November (Sunday) All Saints Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, North-Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate and Saarland)
18 November (Wednesday) Day of Repentance and Prayer Saxony-Anhalt and Bavaria
24 December (pm) (Thursday) Christmas Eve Nationwide (shops will be closing at round 1pm!)
25 December (Friday) Christmas Day nationwide (shops are closed)
26 December (Saturday) Christmas Eve nationwide (shops are closed)
31 December (Thursday) New Year’s Eve nationwide (shops will be closing at around 1pm)
Note: 20th February 2020 (Thursday) is the start of the Carnival celebration time (Weiberfastnacht/Altweiber) and specially in Carnival places e.g. Cologne, Düsseldorf, Mainz etc. people are starting to party from 11.11am. Be prepared that some businesses might stop working then. The Carnival celebration continues on Friday until Wednesday. On 24th February 2020 is Rose Monday (Rosenmontag). On this day some shops and businesses stay closed. A Rose Monday Carnival parade (Rosenmontagszug) is held in many cities and towns.

 

 

 

 

Please share this page on your favourite social network