Public Holidays in Germany 2019

 

If you are planning a short break, a longer holiday or maybe you just need to contact someone in Germany for work, it goes without saying that it would be helpful to know when businesses or shops might be closed.

In North Rhine-Westphalia, Hessia and Rhineland-Palatinate, Carnival Monday is one example of when you might find things closed for business. In fact, the partying normally starts on the Thursday before as workers begin to celebrate carnival time. So, do check my list of German public holidays before planning your trip as there is nothing more disappointing than arriving at your destination only to find that everything’s closed! Unlike the UK, it’s important to bear in mind that shops are closed on Sundays (with just some shops being allowed to open on certain Sundays). However, there is a debate going on at the moment about the possibility of shops opening on Sundays but, as yet, nothing’s been confirmed.

 

Date What Where
19th April (Friday) Good Friday nationwide
21st  April (Sunday) Easter Sunday nationwide
22nd April (Monday) Easter Monday nationwide
1st May (Wednesday) Labour Day nationwide
30th May (Thursday) Ascension (also “Father’s Day”) nationwide
9th and 10th June (Sunday and Monday) Whitsun nationwide
20th June (Thursday) Corpus Christi Baden-Württemberg,  Bavaria, Hesse, North-Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland and some areas in Saxony and Thuringia
15th August (Thursday) Assumption Day Saarland and Bavaria
3rd October (Thursday) Germany National Holiday nationwide
31st October (Thursday) Reformation Brandenburg, Bremen, Hamburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Lower Saxony, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Schleswig-Holstein & Thuringia)
1st November (Friday) All Saints Baden-Württemberg , Bavaria, North-Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate and Saarland)
20th November (Wednesday) Day of Repentance and Prayer Saxony; schools closed in Bavaria
24th December (pm) (Tuesday) Christmas Eve nationwide
25th December (Wednesday) Christmas Day nationwide
26th December (Thursday) 2nd Christmas Day (Boxing Day) nationwide

 

 

Please share this page on your favourite social network